Sri Lanka vs England

Sri Lanka vs England: 1st Test Match Preview

Welcome to the preview of the 1st Test match preview. The starts from 14th of January.

Date: 14 Jan 2021; 10:00 AM IST 

Venue: Galle International Stadium, Galle 

Match Preview 

England going to start their Worlds Championship against Sri Lanka, Both Test matches going to play on the same ground at Galle International Stadium, Galle. England was scheduled to play two Tests in March 2020 in Sri Lanka as a feature of the ICC World Test Championship yet it was deferred due to the Covid pandemic. After the finish of the two Tests, England set out on a mammoth four-Test arrangement against India in India. 

England made one prominent progress as they whitewashed Sri Lanka 3-0 to turn into the primary side to whitewash Sri Lanka on their own home turf, But England never enjoyed much more in Sub Continent, having lost 0-4 to India the last time they toured the country. However, in 2018. 

England has been discreetly approaching their arrangements and will play their first Test Series since August. Team England had as of late visited South Africa yet the Covid pandemic dropped the ODI Series. England eying once again to repeat the same as 2018, And Top teams India, Australia & New Zeland looking forward to Test Championship. 

England’s best allrounder Moeen Ali tested COVID-19 positive and this is a big blow for England’s cemo and also ruled out for 1st Test Match. 

Pitch Report

According to the recent matches we can expect, Batting gone a more favorite on this ground, On a fresh day with a new ball, Bowlers gets some movement, After that is easy to play.

Playing XI 

England Possible Playing XI

Dominic Sibley, Zak Crawley, Joe Root(c), Ollie Pope, Jos Buttler(wk), Daniel Lawrence, Chris Woakes, Dominic Bess, Jack Leach, Stuart Broad, James Anderson. 

Sri Lanka Possible Playing XI

Dimuth Karunaratne(c), Kusal Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Niroshan Dickwella(wk), Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera.

Team Squads

England (ENG)

Joe Root (capt), Moeen Ali, Dom Sibley, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, James Bracey, Mason Crane, Saqib Mahmood, Craig Overton, Matt Parkinson, Ollie Robinson, Amar Virdi, James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Ben Foakes, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach. 

Sri Lanka  (SL)

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Dushmantha Chameera, Dasun Shanaka, Santhush Gunathilake, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Angelo Mathews, Oshada Fernando, Dhananjaya De Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Lasith Embuldeniya, Wanindu Hasaranga.

Read Also | The ICC Awards of the Decade winners announced 


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *