purple cap winner

Purple cap winners list | Indian T20 League 

The Indian T20 League top wicket-taker receives a unique award known as the Purple Cap. When every franchise has participated in a match, the Purple Cap race officially starts. The Purple Cap holders switch as the season goes on, and following the championship game, the player with the most league wickets wins the prized prize. Only Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo have twice received the Purple Cap among the many winners. In fact, Bhuvneshwar, who claimed 23 and 27 wickets in 2016 and 2017, is the only player to have earned the Purple Cap in back-to-back seasons.

Who do you believe will be the 2023 the purple cap winner? 

The Purple Cap is an award presented to the leading wicket-taker in the Indian T20 League (IPL) tournament each season.

Here is the list of Purple Cap winners from the first season in 2008 to the most recent season in 2022:

Year Purple Cap Winner wickets
2008 Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan) 22 wickets 
2009 RP Singh (Deccan) 23 wickets 
2010 Pragyan Ojha (Deccan ) 21 wickets
2011 Lasith Malinga (Mumbai) 28 wickets 
2012 Morne Morkel (Delhi) 25 wickets 
2013 Dwayne Bravo (Chennai ) 32 wickets
2014 Mohit Sharma (Chennai) 23 wickets
2015 Dwayne Bravo (Chennai ) 26 wickets 
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar ( Hyderabad) 23 wickets 
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Hyderabad) 26 wickets
2018 Andrew Tye (Punjab) 23 wickets
2019 Imran Tahir (Chennai ) 26 wickets
2020 Kagiso Rabada (Delhi ) 30 wickets 
2021 Harshal Patel (Bangalore) 32 wickets
2022 Yuzvendra Chahal (Rajasthan) 27 wickets


The advantage of being a Purple Cap holder is that more people know about the talent of the bowler, especially when the player is uncapped. Purple Cap holders also wear a unique cap while fielding for their franchise. Last year, the Purple Cap winner also received a prize money of Rs 10 lakh.  

ipl offers


Frequently Asked Questions

Who in history has won the most Purple Caps? 

Famous T20 players from the West Indies Dwayne Bravo and Indian seamer Bhubaneshwar Kumar have both won the Purple Cap thrice, which is the most in history.

Who won the Purple Cap for the first time in history? 

Sohail Tanvir, a left-arm fast bowler from Pakistan who competed for the in the Indian T20 League’s first season in 2008, was the first player to get the Purple Cap. In 11 games, he took 22 wickets for a 6.46 economy and an 11.23 strike rate.

who won the purple cap in 2022?
Yuzvendra Chahal won the Purple Cup during the 2022 final between and Gujarat on Sunday.

Are you Ready with your Team Now? Join on Prime Captain Fantasy Sports App.

Join our Telegram Channels to win exciting cash prizes and offers!

Check out now: primecaptain.com