IND vs NZ First T20 Match Report | New Zealand Tour of India

1st Match Report 

: The Indian squad has arrived in Jaipur for the opening Twenty20 encounter against New Zealand at Sawai Mansingh Stadium. Rohit Sharma, the Indian captain, has won the toss and has chosen to bowl against New Zealand. 

India’s Inning- 

India’s opening pair of and Rohit Sharma got off to a flying start in pursuit of the mark. Both teams scored 50 runs in the first five overs, averaging 10 runs per over. Rahul surrendered his catch to Chapman after 15 runs on Santner’s ball. India have scored 85 runs for the loss of one wicket by the end of the half-innings. After a 48-run innings off 36 balls, captain Rohit Sharma was dismissed by Trent Boult. 

Suryakumar hit four fours and three sixes in 34 balls to get his third half-century. Suryakumar was bowled for 62 runs while attempting to hit a huge shot on Bolt’s ball. Southee dismissed Shreyas Iyer for 5 runs. Following that, Venkatesh, who was making his debut, walked into the field, smashed a four on the first ball, and then lost his wicket while attempting to strike the wicket. With a four in 19.4 overs, Rishabh Pant gave India the victory. 

New Zealand’s inning- 

The New Zealand team struggled to get off to a good start after losing the toss against India. Bhuvneshwar Kumar clean bowled Darryl Mitchell in the third ball of the first over. He had to return without creating the account after playing three balls. New Zealand scored 41 runs in the powerplay for the cost of one wicket. The innings were handled by Chapman and Guptill. In 45 balls, he struck four fours and two sixes for his second half-century in T20 Internationals. 

After bowling Chapman for 63 runs, Ashwin sent him back. Glenn Phillips was thrown out lbw not long after. Guptill was dismissed by Deepak Chahar following an innings of 70 runs off 42 balls. Shreyas Iyer was successful in catching his victim. Tim Seifert scored 12 runs off Bhuvneshwar Kumar before Suryakumar Yadav took over. Rachit Ravindra, the team’s sixth wicket, fell to the opposition. 

In this match, India’s Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ravichandran Ashwin each grabbed two wickets. Chahar and Siraj each had one batter dismissed. 

IND vs NZ Playing 11 

India’s playing 11

Rohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Mohammad Siraj 

NZ Playing 11 

Martin Guptill, Darryl Mitchell, Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Astle, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson.

Download Prime Captain Fantasy sports App.