IND vs AUS 2020

IND vs AUS 2020: Top 5 Best inning played by Indian cricketer against Australia.

Ind vs Aus 2020 series will start from 27 November. Team India has to play a series of 3 ODIs first there. In this series, the pressure on the Indian team will be high because India’s record against Australia is not very good. But Indian batsmen have also shown their stamina in Australia. Indian batsmen have always had trouble on Australia’s high bouncy pitches, but even Indian stars have played innings in Australia which became memorable. 

Let’s see the top 5 Best innings played by an Indian cricketer against Australia.  

in 1998

IND vs AUS 2020
Sachin Tendulkar

He played an anchor for India Team against Australia, Scored 143 at Sharjah on the night of 22 April 1998. Australia set a big target against India. India needs 285 runs in 50 overs to win. Australian bowlers bowled successfully to choke Indian batsmen. 

They eventually win the match but the world’s best bowling attack thrashed by Indian batsmen. Indian batsmen collapse earlier against the world’s best bowling attack. But  stands on the crease and delivers an outstanding counter-attack in ODI cricket. 

This inning added monstrously to Sachin’s incredible status.

Yuvraj Singh in 2000

IND vs AUS 2020
Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh announced himself on the big stage with a rollicking 84 against the Aussies during the 2000 Champions Trophy in Nairobi. Four years later, he came up with another brilliant knock against Australia, this time in the latter’s own den. In the 7th match of the VB series at Sydney, India found themselves in trouble having lost Sourav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid, with the score reading 80 for 3. VVS Laxman was holding one end up for India, but it was Yuvraj’s entry that shifted the momentum of the match in India’s favor

Having made his mind up to go after the bowling, the southpaw flayed the Australian attack featuring Brett Lee and Jason Gillespie. Yuvraj slammed 16 fours and two sixes in his 122-ball 139 and was involved in a 213-run stand for the fourth wicket with Laxman, who was unbeaten on 106 off 130 balls. 

The Indians finished their innings on 296 for 4. Due to rain interruptions, Australia’s target was revised to 225 from 34 overs. They got home with a ball to spare courtesy of Adam Gilchrist’s blistering 95 from 72 balls. Yuvraj though was named man of the match for his splendid innings.

Sachin Tendulkar in 2009

IND vs AUS 2020
Sachin Tendulkar

scored 175 runs in 5th ODI at Hyderabad in 2009 against Australia. Australia set a mountain, scored 350 runs in 50 overs. 

India pushes four wickets down on a score of 162 in 24 overs. but from one side, Sachin stands for his team and scored more than half of India’s total runs. The master got OUT in 48th over when India need 19 runs in just 18 balls, Lower order gets panicked after dismissed the Master wicket, and India fell short by three runs.

in 2013

Rohit Sharma Best innings against aus

Rohit Sharma (Hit-Man) makes a strong comeback in carrier. He smashed a magnificent 209 from 158 balls at Bengaluru on November 2, 2013, during the 7th One-Dayer of the seven-match series. He proves himself after a long time and shows his potential against a strong team.

The Indian openers scored a century without losing a single wicket. Rohit kept the scoreboard ticking and went wild in the passing overs. His hundred fell off 114 balls, his 150 off 140 balls, and the last 50 runs in just 16 balls. 

in 2016

IND vs AUS 2020

Kohli played an excellent knock for Team India in the 3rd ODI of the 2016 series at Melbourne. Sent in to bat after losing the toss, India lost Rohit early. However, Kohli featured in a fluent partnership of 119 with Dhawan (68) and 109 with Ajinkya Rahane (50).

The number three batsman held the innings together with a run-a-ball 117, hitting seven fours and two sixes during his fluent knock. Team India looked set to cross 300 with Kohli at the crease. However, a middle-order collapse held India to 295 as John Hastings picked up four wickets.

2020 Series: The ODI series will be followed by a three-match series which begins in December. The final leg of the tour will be the 4-match Test series, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Also, Read | Indian Cricket Team to wear ‘Retro’ jersey during ODI and T20I series against Australia

Also, Read | England tour of South Africa 2020-21: Full Schedule


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *